The Toyota Yaris WRC, which Ott Tanak took to the 2019 championship, has been named as Rally Automotive of the Yr within the 2019 Autosport Awards.

The Tommi Makinen-led Toyota Gazoo Racing mission entered the 3rd yr of the marque’s go back to the International Rally Championship in 2019 however proved to be the benchmark on the earth’s most sensible rally sequence within the fingers of Estonian superstar Tanak.

Tanak, who has gained the Rally Driving force of the Yr award this night guided the Yaris to 6 wins from the 13 rallies run this season, beating Hyundai-backed Thierry Neuville to the championship with what was once a spherical to spare sooner than Rally Australia’s cancellation.

Even though Tanak has departed the crew for 2020, Toyota stands in excellent stead to provide up a repeat of its ’19 efficiency with six-time WRC champion Sebastien Ogier subsequent yr.

One-time WRC champion Ari Vatanen additionally introduced this award, handing it over to TGR’s technical director Tom Fowler.

Fowler stated: “The 2017-spec homologation vehicles are getting nearer and nearer, it is tricky to seek out those remaining tenths of a 2d and we had a large push this yr to verify Ott is a champion,

“Giant because of Ott for demonstrating the auto’s power.”

Fowler joked he had spent “15 years” looking to prevent Sebastien’s (Loeb and Ogier) from successful the WRC however is having a look ahead to operating with new signing Ogier in 2020.

The Yaris held off pageant from Citroen’s C3 WRC, the Hyundai i20 WRC and Ford Fiesta WRC challengers to bag most sensible honours in Rally Automotive of the Yr 2019.

The 2019 Autosport Awards will likely be broadcast on Sky Sports activities F1 at 9pm on Monday December 9

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.