Pat Smullen and Ruby Walsh, have been honoured with the Irish Racing Hero Award at this 12 months’s Horse Racing Eire Awards. 

Instructor Jessica Harrington, peak jockey Rachael Blackmore and twin Aintree Grand Nationwide winner Tiger Roll have been additionally a few of the winners on the horseracing awards bash.

Irish Racing Hero Award winners Pat Smullen and Ruby Walsh, extensively thought to be two of the all time nice jockeys, retired inside of days of one another previous this 12 months. 9-time Flat champion Pat hung up his boots in early Might and was once then central to a celebrated fundraising marketing campaign for pancreatic most cancers trials and consciousness of pancreatic most cancers analysis.

The marketing campaign culminated with the Pat Smullen Champions Race for Most cancers Trials Eire on the Curragh and raised over €2.5m for charity.

Ruby bowed out with Grade 1 good fortune on the Punchestown Competition after his personal stellar profession. Topped Nationwide Hunt jockey in Eire on 12 events, his file in huge soar races world wide was once moment to none.

Ruby was once the main rider on the Cheltenham Competition on 11 events and retired with a file 59 winners on the assembly to his title.

In style

Tiger Roll, owned through Gigginstown Area Stud, is without doubt one of the most well liked horses in coaching and was once the runaway winner of the Horse Of The Yr Award.

In April of this 12 months, ‘Tiger’ turned into the primary horse since Purple Rum in 1973 and 1974 to file back-to-back wins within the Aintree Grand Nationwide having notched up his fourth win on the Cheltenham Competition handiest the month prior to.

The Nationwide Hunt Award went to Rachael Blackmore whose achievements at the racecourse have been being stated for the second one successive 12 months.

Blackmore has cemented her place as probably the most main jockeys within the nation with a second-place end in closing season’s jockeys’ championship and a string of big-race victories all over the season.

The previous champion conditional rode her first winners on the Cheltenham Competition in March on A Plus Tard and Minella Indo and loved 3 Grade One winners in 2019.


Jessica Harrington is the winner of the Flat Award.  The thrilling Albigna landed the Team 2 Airlie Stud Stakes on the Curragh for Harrington on Derby weekend prior to profitable the distinguished Team 1 Prix Marcel Boussac at Longchamp on Arc day. There was once additionally top-level good fortune for the strong when Millisle received the Team 1 Cheveley Park Stakes at Newmarket.

The Nationwide Hunt Success Award went to Gavin Cromwell. Gavin continues to move from power to power and loved an awesome 12 months with the undoubted spotlight being his first winner on the Cheltenham Competition in March with the past due Espoir D’allen profitable the Champion Hurdle.

The Flat Success Award went to Corkman Wayne Lordan who had an awesome time of items in 2019, starting the season with good fortune on Hermosa within the 1,000 Guineas at Newmarket and rounding off the 12 months with a primary Breeders’ Cup win on Iridessa, including to their wins within the Beautiful Polly Stakes and the Coolmore Fastnet Rock Matron Stakes on Longines Irish Champions Weekend.


Darragh O’Keeffe is the winner of the inaugural Rising Skill Award. Status out among a number of vastly promising younger Nationwide Hunt jockeys, Darragh landed his 60th good fortune and rode out his declare when profitable the Cork Nationwide. That win capped an unbelievable upward thrust for the younger rider who had his first winner handiest 16 months up to now.

Naas Racecourse was once the winner of the Racecourse of the Yr Award. From all 26 racecourses, the County Kildare venue got here out on peak following a poll of individuals of the Racegoers’ Consultative Discussion board, the Irish racing media, the Affiliation of Irish Racehorse Homeowners, the Irish Racehorse Running shoes Affiliation, the Irish Jockeys Affiliation and the Irish Stablestaff Affiliation.

Brian Kavanagh, Leader Government of HRI, stated: “It is a very special day as we glance again on every other a success 12 months for our business. Our ‘heroes’ Pat Smullen and Ruby Walsh are absolutely deserving in their awards for all they gave us over such a lot of years and naturally, Tony O’Hehir was once every other to experience a advantageous profession in racing journalism, doing such a lot to advertise our recreation to the widest conceivable target market. There may hardly ever be a extra well-liked horse in coaching than Tiger Roll and he’s a becoming winner of the Horse of the Yr Award.”


The winners of the 17th annual awards have been:

Irish Racing Hero Award: Pat Smullen & Ruby Walsh

Contribution to the Trade Award: Tony O’Hehir

Horse of the Yr Award: Tiger Roll

Rising Skill Award: Darragh O’Keeffe

Nationwide Hunt Award: Rachael Blackmore

Nationwide Hunt Success Award: Gavin Cromwell

Flat Award: Jessica Harrington

Flat Success Award: Wayne Lordan

Level-to-Level Award: Colin Bowe

Trip of the Yr Award: Billy Lee

Racecourse of the Yr Award: Naas Racecourse

Subscribe to Off The Ball’s YouTube channel for extra movies, like us
on Fb or observe us on Twitter
for the most recent carrying information and content material.

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.