We will have entered a brand new decade, however backstopping remains to be a factor at the PGA Excursion. Simply ask Golfing Twitter.

On Friday evening, the excursion tweeted video of a impressive bunker shot through Russell Knox right through the second one spherical of the American Categorical. It did not take lengthy, although, for other people to focal point now not at the shot itself, however what came about whilst Knox’s golfing ball rolled towards the outlet.

RELATED: It is time golfing removes the grey in backstopping

Knox’s ball slightly misses hitting enjoying spouse Kevin Na’s unmarked ball inside of tap-in vary. And stoking the flames of a possible controversy is the reality Na can also be heard announcing, “Hit my ball!” within the clip. Watch and concentrate:

And here is a sampling of reactions:

RELATED: Golfing’s greatest turkeys of 2019

Why was once Na’s ball now not marked? Just right query—particularly taking into account the eye the talk over backstopping has gotten the previous couple years after a number of movies made the rounds. In 2018, Jimmy Walker did not do the rest to make the problem pass away when he admitted to purposely leaving his ball close to the outlet to assist positive gamers.

And closing 12 months, the dialogue unfold to the LPGA when Amy Olson hit Ariya Jutanugarn’s ball after waving her off from marking, later claiming she did it to hurry up tempo of play. At this level, you might suppose excursion professionals would pass out in their option to mark their golfing balls despite the fact that the chances of a enjoying spouse hitting their ball are narrow.

In any match, here is what Rule 15.3a says: “For those who fairly consider {that a} ball at the striking inexperienced may assist somebody’s play (equivalent to through serving as a conceivable backstop close to the outlet), it’s possible you’ll mark and raise the ball if it’s your personal, or if the ball belongs to some other participant, require the opposite participant to mark and raise the ball.”

The guideline additionally states, “For those who and some other participant agree to depart a ball in position to assist one in all you, and that participant then makes a stroke with the serving to ball left in position, every participant who made the settlement will get the overall penalty (two penalty strokes).”

In different phrases, despite the fact that the golfing balls do not make touch, each gamers can nonetheless be penalized.

In all probability, Na is not conscious about the rule of thumb. Or, possibly, he figured Knox may just use all of the assist he may just get seeking to break out Pete Dye’s notorious “San Andreas Fault” bunker on PGA West’s Stadium Route. And, possibly, Knox was once up to now under the fairway he had no clue Na’s ball was once there. Regardless, so long as gamers do not mark their golfing balls across the hollow, the general public will proceed to take a position as to why.

RELATED: That is it, that is the craziest sand save in PGA Excursion historical past


WATCH MORE GOLF DIGEST VIDEOS



Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.