Tauranga rally motive force Phil Campbell made a forged begin to his New Zealand Rally Championship (NZRC) marketing campaign with a podium end within the Rally of Otago remaining weekend.

Campbell and co-driver Mal Peden (Cambridge) drove their Ford Fiesta AP4 to fourth position general on the two-day Otago match, however completed 3rd within the NZRC standings as runaway rally winner Hayden Paddon is not contesting the nationwide sequence this 12 months.

”It was once an excellent begin to the season,” Campbell mentioned.

”We had blank run on Saturday however a couple of electric issues on Sunday that made the automobile relatively exhausting to pressure.

”The engine would cut-out intermittently which wasn’t just right for the arrogance. We had been in a protected fourth position and did not take any giant dangers.”

Campbell believes aiming for consistency will convey ends up in the six-round 2019 nationwide championship.

”I don’t believe we want to be the quickest motive force each and every rally however we want to be persistently scoring issues. There may be nonetheless have a little bit to paintings on with our tempo however I believe we will be able to be nearer to the entrance guys at Whangārei [the next round of the championship] on roads the place I’ve extra enjoy,” Campbell mentioned.

Paddon gained the Otago Rally through extra then seven mins whilst Auckland’s Ben Hunt (Subaru) was once moment and took the NZRC victory forward of Audi motive force Dylan Turner (Auckland) and Campbell. Hunt leads the championship with 42 issues whilst Turner has 35 and Campbell is subsequent on 24.

The opposite sturdy efficiency from a Tauranga group on the weekend got here from Ben Thomasen and Gavin Haycock in a Subaru Impreza. Thomasen is competing within the second-tier Rally Problem class which was once determined at the first day of the Otago match.

He finished Saturday’s phases keeping 7th position general and gained the Rally Problem class through just about a minute from Darfield’s Garet Thomas (Subaru). Thomasen additionally leads the NZRC rookie class after the outlet around.

Tauranga’s Andy Martin and Matt Hayward completed 8th within the World Otago Vintage Rally of their Mazda RX3. The development was once ruled through Ford Escorts with Norwegian WRC big name Mads Ostberg taking the victory whilst Martin was once the best-placed motive force no longer on the wheel of a Ford Escort.

Tauranga’s Wayne Pittams and Chris Davison (Ford Escort) completed 30th general whilst Phil Macquarie and Noel Moloney (Subaru Impreza) positioned 54th whilst two BOP crews failed to complete.

Mt Maunganui’s David Holder and co-driver Jason Farmer (Hamilton) misplaced time on Saturday with a damaged driveshaft after which retired their Holden Barina AP4 on Sunday with gas power issues. Leon Kinds and Martyn Stevenson (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) retired in Saturday morning’s moment degree with a damaged axle.

Spherical two of the New Zealand Rally Championship is the Eneos World Rally of Whangārei which runs over the Would possibly 4-Five weekend.

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.