Messi is now one Ballon d’Or win forward of Cristiano Ronaldo

Barcelona ahead Lionel Messi has gained the Ballon d’Or award for the arena’s perfect participant for a report 6th time.

It’s the 32-year-old Argentine’s first Ballon d’Or since 2015 and springs after he scored 54 occasions for membership and nation in 2018-19, wherein Barca gained Los angeles Liga.

Virgil van Dijk used to be 2nd – considered one of 4 Liverpool gamers within the best seven, together with Sadio Mane in fourth.

Juventus and Portugal ahead Cristiano Ronaldo, who has gained the award 5 occasions, used to be 3rd within the balloting.

England defender Lucy Bronze used to be crushed to the ladies’s award, completing 2nd in the back of Megan Rapinoe, who used to be Golden Ball winner as USA claimed a 2nd successive International Cup in 2019.

Liverpool keeper Alisson gained the inaugural Yashin Trophy for perfect goalkeeper, forward of Barcelona’s Germany global Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Brazilian compatriot Ederson of Manchester Town.

Defender Matthijs de Ligt took the Kopa Trophy, awarded to the most productive under-21 participant and decided on by way of former Ballon d’Or winners.

The 20-year-old, who joined Juventus this summer time after serving to Ajax achieve the semi-finals of final season’s Champions League, beat Borussia Dortmund and England ahead Jadon Sancho to the award.

Messi’s win method the Ballon d’Or award has been gained by way of a participant from Spain’s Los angeles Liga in each and every of the final 11 years, together with final yr’s winner Luka Modric, who broke the 10-year Messi-Ronaldo monopoly at the prize.

“As of late is my 6th Ballon d’Or. It is a utterly other second, lived with my circle of relatives and my kids,” Messi mentioned.

“As my spouse mentioned, you should by no means forestall dreaming however at all times paintings to beef up and proceed to revel in. I’m very fortunate, I’m blessed.

“I am hoping to proceed for a very long time. I realise that I’m very fortunate, although, in the future, retirement will ring. It’s going to be tough.

“However I nonetheless have gorgeous years forward of me. Time is going in no time, so I wish to revel in soccer and my circle of relatives.”

The Argentine ahead just lately notched up 700 appearances for Barca, all through which period he has scored a ravishing 614 targets whilst profitable 34 trophies, together with 10 Los angeles Liga and 4 Champions League titles, and a number of alternative data and awards.

Messi’s main trophy haul
Los angeles Liga (10)2004-05, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2014-15,2015-16, 2017-18, 2018-19
Copa del Rey (6)2008-09, 2011-12, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18
Champions League (4)2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2014-15
Ballon d’Or (6)2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019

His very good presentations for Barcelona enabled him to carry off the problem of Champions League winner Van Dijk, who used to be aiming to develop into the primary defender to win the award since Italy’s Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

“It used to be an incredible yr, however there may be a few gamers like that who’re a little bit unnatural,” Van Dijk mentioned of Messi and Ronaldo. “So you wish to have to recognize greatness as smartly.

“I used to be shut, however there used to be simply any person a bit of bit higher.

“I am very pleased with what I accomplished final yr with Liverpool and Holland, and with a bit of luck we will do this once more this yr. However that will probably be tricky with the ones guys round right here nonetheless.

“I by no means concept that I’d be up for a Ballon d’Or till I used to be if truth be told nominated. It presentations so much about how my profession has been. My profession has been other from the winner right here, I got here past due, however I by no means gave up on my goals.

“I needed to paintings laborious each and every step of the best way, as a way to be right here makes me very proud. And I wish to paintings laborious and be right here once more subsequent yr.”

The total record

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal)

5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

6. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)

7. Alisson (Liverpool and Brazil)

8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

9. Bernardo Silva (Manchester Town and Portugal)

10. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester Town and Algeria)

11. Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona and Netherlands)

12. Raheem Sterling (Manchester Town and England)

13. Eden Danger (Actual Madrid and Belgium)

14. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester Town and Belgium)

15. Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus and Netherlands)

16. Sergio Aguero (Manchester Town and Argentina)

17. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool and Brazil)

18. Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona and France)

19. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England)

20= Dusan Tadic (Ajax and Serbia)

20= Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal and Gabon)

22. Son Heung-min (Tottenham and South Korea)

23. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham and France)

24= Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli and Senegal)

24= Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona and Germany)

28= Donny van de Beek (Ajax and Netherlands)

28= Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid and Portugal)

28= Marquinhos (Paris St-Germain and Brazil)

What’s the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded by way of France Soccer once a year since 1956, with England’s Stanley Matthews the primary winner.

It used to be just for Ecu gamers till 1995, when it expanded to develop into open for any participant at a Ecu membership. From 2007 it opened as much as the remainder of the arena.

The 30-man record of nominees is compiled by way of the editorial personnel of the French mag, with the winner voted for by way of newshounds from world wide, with one consultant according to country.

From 2010 to 2015 it merged with Fifa’s awards, however they break up and the arena governing frame arrange its personal awards once more in 2016.

Ballon d’Or: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since 2008
WinnerRunner-up3rd position
2007KakaCristiano RonaldoLionel Messi
2008Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFernando Torres
2009Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2010Lionel MessiAndres IniestaXavi
2011Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2012Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoAndres Iniesta
2013Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFranck Ribery
2014Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiManuel Neuer
2015Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoNeymar
2016Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiAntoine Griezmann
2017Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiNeymar
2018Luka ModricCristiano RonaldoAntoine Griezmann
2019Lionel MessiVirgil van DijkCristiano Ronaldo

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.