The extremely expected annual ICC Awards had been introduced on Wednesday with the likes of Ben Stokes, Pat Cummins, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma strolling away with the highest awards. England’s Stokes was once awarded the celebrated Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for his all-round heroics all over his staff’s title-winning International Cup 2019 marketing campaign adopted by means of his red-ball exploits all over the following Ashes and the South Africa collection. However, Rohit and Cummins had been rewarded for his or her stupendous year-ending numbers in ODIs and Checks respectively.

For the reason that ICC Awards had been first initiated in 2004, Indians have ruled the total winners’ checklist with Australian and English cricketers following shut at the back of. Because the mud settles down on the most recent version of awards, listed here are a couple of highlights from the yearly world match which turn out this perception past doubt:

9/11: It virtually turns out ironic to discuss India as a dominant ODI power hours after Virat Kohli and Co.’s humiliating defeat vs Australia in Mumbai on Tuesday. However the ICC Awards historical past supplies plentiful evidence that India were blessed with one of the best possible cricketing minds with regards to main an ODI staff. With the mythical MS Dhoni previous and Virat Kohli now, India have constantly developed into a really perfect ODI unit, even supposing the new screw ups at successful ICC tournaments would possibly counsel another way.

It’s now Nine instances out of the previous 11 years, that the ICC have selected an Indian to guide their ODI Group of the 12 months. Ricky Ponting (2010) and AB de Villiers (2015) are the one non-Indians designated as ODI captains of the worldwide year-ending staff of the 12 months as Dhoni and Kohli have dominated the roost. Dhoni holds the present report with the respect of main the ICC ODI staff of the 12 months for a most of five instances with Ponting and Kohli following shut at the back of (four each and every).

Kohli’s hat-trick: Indians additionally dominate the checklist of ICC Check captains of the 12 months with a complete of 6 such accolades since 2004. With the 2019 ICC Awards, Indian skipper Virat Kohli now holds a singular hat-trick of being named the captain of the ICC Check staff for three years in succession. Although former England captain Alastair Cook dinner and mythical Australian skipper Ricky Ponting have additionally been showered with this accolade three times of their careers like Kohli, not like the Indian captain, they by no means made it three years in a row. Together with Dhoni (2009, 2010) and Rahul Dravid (2006), Indians dominate this actual checklist similar to the ODI one.

Kohli+Rohit >> ABD+QDK: Rohit Sharma was once named the ICC ODI participant of the 12 months 2019 making it a hat-trick of such titles for India. General, Indians dominate this checklist too with Dhoni (2008, 2009), Kohli (2012, 2017, 2018) having already mixed to proportion Five awards amongst themselves. Kohli is recently tied together with his Royal Challengers Bangalore teammate AB de Villiers with a most of three such awards. Quinton de Kock’s 2016 award signifies that South Africa are at the 2d spot at the back of India within the general winners’ checklist on this class.

Australia 6, India 5: one of the vital 2 main awards lists the place Indians are at the 2d spot is the ICC Check Participant of the 12 months. Cummins’ newest win signifies that Australians (Ponting – 2006, Clarke – 2013, Johnson – 2014, Steve Smith – 2015, 2017) have now scraped previous their Indian opposite numbers in the case of maximum wins (6) on this class. Dravid (2004), Gautam Gambhir (2009), Sehwag (2010), R Ashwin (2016) and Kohli (2018) are the one Indians to have gained this award.

If truth be told, Smith stays the one cricketer to have gained the coveted award two times in his occupation; whilst Cummins is the one rapid bowler (third general) after compatriot Johnson to win the award – Dale Steyn had gained it in 2008.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy: that is the opposite class the place Australians have held a slight merit (6-5) over Indians. Unarguably essentially the most prestigious of all ICC Awards, the Cricketer of the 12 months for 2019 was once gained by means of Ben Stokes breaking a 6-year lengthy hegemony of Indians and Australians over the coveted award. Rahul Dravid (2004), Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Ashwin (2016) and Kohli (2017, 2018) are the Indians who’ve gained this award since its inception. By the way, Kohli and Ponting (2006, 2007) until date, stay the one gamers who’ve gained it in 2 successive years.

Complete Record of ICC awards 2019:

Ben Stokes: International participant of the 12 months
Pat Cummins: 2019 Check Cricketer of the 12 months
Rohit Sharma: 2019 ODI Cricketer of the 12 months
Virat Kohli: 2019 Spirit of Cricket Award
Marnus Labuschagne: 2019 ICC Males’s Rising Cricketer
Deepak Chahar: 2019 T20I Performer of the 12 months (6/7 in opposition to Bangladesh)
Kyle Coetzer: 2019 Affiliate Cricketer of the 12 months
Richard Illingworth: 2019 Umpire of the 12 months

ICC ODI Group of the 12 months 2019: Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav

ICC Check Group of the 12 months 2019: Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon

Get real-time indicators and the entire information to your telephone with the all-new India Lately app. Obtain from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

!serve as(f,b,e,v,n,t,s)
if(f.fbq)go back;n=f.fbq=serve as()n.callMethod?
fbq(‘init’, ‘605311446619075’);
fbq(‘monitor’, ‘PageView’);
fbq(‘monitor’, ‘ViewContent’);

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.