Girls’s Excursion: Briton Lizzie Deignan leads after degree 5 victory

Women's Tour: Briton Lizzie Deignan leads after stage five victory

Deignan with the chief’s inexperienced jersey after Friday’s degree win

Lizzie Deignan secured her first victory since coming back from maternity depart as she gained degree 5 to take the total lead within the Girls’s Excursion.

The 30-year-old out-sprinted Thursday’s degree winner Kasia Niewiadoma and Elisa Longo Borghini on the Royal Welsh Showground after the trio broke transparent.


Briton Deignan, winner in 2016, leads 2017 champion Niewiadoma through one 2d going into Saturday’s ultimate degree.

The win got here 657 days since Deignan’s earlier skilled victory.

In a single day race chief Liane Lippert completed 22nd, shedding two mins and 19 seconds to drop again to 20th within the total classification.

The German have been in the primary pack that includes all the common classification contenders coming near the overall Queen of the Mountains climb of Epynt.

However the sure using of Trek-Segafredo duo Deignan and Longo Borghini ended in the overall two riders from the day’s breakaway, Erica Magnaldi and Amalie Dideriksen, being reeled in and the chasing pack splintered, with simply 20 riders achieving the showground inside two mins of Deignan.

The Yorkshire rider, who completed 2d on Tuesday and 3rd on Thursday, stated: “I will’t moderately truly describe it; it was once more than likely the nicest win I have had in a long time.

“I truly savoured it and truly loved it and I will be able to do for a very long time.”

Saturday’s finale will likely be contested over a 125.9km (79-mile) degree between Carmarthen and Pembrey Nation Park.

In a primary for the Girls’s Excursion, the sector will entire a lap of the Carmarthen Velodrome as a part of the degree’s ceremonial get started and absorb a part of Pembrey’s new, closed-road cycle circuit at the strategy to the end line.

Degree 5 end result

1. Lizzie Deignan (GB/Trek-Segafredo) Three hours 54 mins 35 seconds

2. Kasia Niewiadoma (Pol/Canyon-SMAR Racing) Similar time

3. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) +2secs

4. Leah Kirchmann (Can/Group Sunweb) +17secs

5. Christine Majerus (Lux/Boels Dolman) Similar time

6. Amy Pieters (Ned/Boels Dolman) +19secs

7. Ellen Van Dijk (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) Similar time

8. Lizzy Banks (GB/Bigla)

9. Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa/WNT-Rotor Professional Biking)

10. Marta Cavalli (Ita/Valcar Cyclance)

Basic Classification

1. Lizzie Deignan (GB/Trek-Segafredo) 17 hours 42 mins 24 seconds

2. Kasia Niewiadoma (Pol/Canyon-SMAR Racing) +1sec

3. Amy Pieters (Ned/Boels Dolman) +32secs

4. Demi Vollering (Ned/Parkhotel Vollering) +50secs

5. Christine Majerus (Lux/Boels Dolman) Similar time

6. Lizzy Banks (GB/Bigla) +57secs

7. Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol/Movistar) +58secs

8. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) +1min

9. Leah Thomas (US/Bigla) Similar time

10. Leah Kirchmann (Can/Group Sunweb) +1min 02secs

Supply hyperlink


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.