Ganna wins Giro stage 14 time trial, Almeida retains GC lead | CyclingTips

Ganna wins Giro stage 14 time trial, Almeida retains GC lead | CyclingTips

Ineos Grenadiers’ administration staff stated earlier than the stage 14 particular person time trial that they had been anticipating some sturdy performances, they usually weren’t dissatisfied. World ITT Champion Filippo Ganna rode the course 26 seconds forward of his teammate, former World Champion Rohan Dennis, and remained within the scorching seat till the remainder of the riders had completed. For the third time on this 12 months’s Giro, Ganna bounded onto the rostrum to simply accept stage honors.

With all eyes on the final classification contenders hoping to unseat João Almeida (Deceuninck – Quickstep), who had been sporting pink for eleven straight levels previous to the ITT, the query was, would Almeida hold pink? The reply: sure. Almeida completed seventh on the day, gaining time over his closest rival, Wilco Kelderman (Group Sunweb), who completed 16 seconds behind Almeida in ninth.

Younger American Brandon McNulty (UAE Group Emirates) had an distinctive experience, ending behind Ganna and Dennis in third, and transferring into fourth within the normal classification.

The way it occurred

The GC had shuffled minimally since stage 3 when the race completed on Etna. Because the Giro approached its ultimate week, the 14th stage particular person time trial appeared to be a possibility for some riders to realize the time that has eluded them to date.

The 34.1-kilometer course featured some ups and downs, with the Muro di ca’ del Poggio, a 1.1km lengthy climb with a mean grade of 12.3% and max grades at 19%, coming early on within the route. Into the end of the TT, the roads received technical because the course made its method via Valdobbiadene.

Sadly, Giulio Ciccone of Trek-Segafredo was compelled to withdraw from the Giro earlier than the beginning of stage 14 with acute bronchitis. Ciccone had COVID-19 in September and all checks since have come again unfavorable, however the staff physician stated in a press release that his situation was not optimum for a Grand Tour and the staff want to keep away from overloading his “already drained physique.”

TT specialists like Dennis, De Gendt, and Kangert fought for the highest step on the day, however similar to the opening stage of the Giro, nobody may come near World Champion Ganna, who accomplished the course in 42:40. Dennis was 26 seconds behind in second and McNulty took third, 1:09 again.

The GC high three remained in the identical order after the stage, and Vincenzo Nibali remained fifth, whereas McNulty gained seven spots, transferring into fourth general. Pozzovivo misplaced somewhat time and dropped into sixth, whereas the remainder of the highest riders gained or misplaced on one another however stayed throughout the high 10. All in all, the most important GC wins on the day had been Almeida and McNulty.

“I did higher than what I believed. I’m tremendous proud of the end result, and I feel in the long run it was a really constructive day,” Almeida stated on the end. With a brutal stage on faucet following the ITT, Almeida was assured he would hold pink. “I feel to date I’ve been a very good climber and (tomorrow) will probably be a tough day, however you recognize I’ve a minute for Kelderman so I can hold it simple and go simple, simply doing my climb, so we begin tomorrow with no strain.”

With three riders within the high 10 together with the highest two steps, Ineos will swim in Prosecco after the stage.


1. Filippo Ganna IGD, 42:40
2. Rohan Dennis IGD, +0:28
3. Brandon McNulty UAD, +1:09
4. Thomas de Gendt LTS, +1:11
5. Josef Cerny CCC, +1:16
6. João Almeida DQT, +1:31
7. Tanel Kangert EF1, +1:33
8. Jonathan Castoviejo IGN, +1:44
9. Wilco Kelderman SUN, +1:47
10. Jan Tratnik TBM, +2:00

Basic Classification

1. João Almeida DQT
2. Wilco Kelderman SUN, +0:56
3. Pello Bilbao TBM, +2:11
4. Brandon McNulty UAD, +2:23
5. Vincenzo Nibali TFS, +2:30
6. Rafal Majka BOH, +2:33
7. Domenico Pozzovivo NTT, +2:33
8. Fausto Masnada DQT, +3:11
9. Patrick Konrad BOH, +3:17
10. Jai Hindley SUN, +3:33

!operate (f, b, e, v, n, t, s)
if (f.fbq) return;
n = f.fbq = operate ()
n.callMethod ?
n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.model = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
(window, doc, ‘script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘212006399362301’);
fbq(‘observe’, ‘PageView’);

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.