ATLANTA, GEORGIA - DECEMBER 07: Joe Burrow #9 of the LSU Tigers celebrates after throwing a touchdown pass to Terrace Marshall Jr. #6 (not pictured) in the third quarter against the Georgia Bulldogs during the SEC Championship game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on December 07, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Kevin C. Cox/Getty Pictures

Joe Burrow remains to be two wins from a countrywide championship, however the LSU quarterback added to his trophy cupboard Thursday as faculty soccer introduced the winners for probably the most recreation’s best particular person honors.

Burrow has been some of the greatest tales all season, throwing for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns whilst serving to information the Tigers to a 13-Zero report and the No. 1 seed within the Faculty Soccer Playoff.

Thursday night time belonged to the Tigers famous person.


Award Winners

  • Maxwell Award (Participant of the 12 months): Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Davey O’Brien Nationwide Quarterback Award (Best possible Quarterback): Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Doak Walker Award (Best possible Working Again): Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
  • Biletnikoff Award (Best possible Receiver): Ja’Marr Chase, LSU
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Participant of the 12 months): Chase Younger, Ohio State
  • Outland Trophy (Best possible Inside Lineman): Penei Sewell, Oregon
  • Jim Thorpe Award (Best possible Defensive Again): Grant Delpit, LSU
  • Lou Groza Collegiate Position-Kicker Award (Best possible Kicker): Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
  • Ray Man Award (Best possible Punter): Max Duffy, Kentucky


The Maxwell Award does not all the time are expecting the eventual Heisman Trophy winner. Tua Tagovailoa took house the honour final 12 months however was once runner-up to Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray within the Heisman vote casting. Alternatively, the Maxwell extra incessantly than no longer supplies a coarse concept of ways the Heisman race will play out.

Burrow bookended the night time, opening the display because the Davey O’Brien Nationwide Quarterback Award recipient and shutting the festivities with the Maxwell Award. In each instances, he was once the primary winner from LSU.

Burrow wasn’t the one LSU participant who gained some {hardware} as he no doubt helped broad receiver Ja’Marr Chase earn the Biletnikoff Award. Chase is wearing at the custom of dynamic Tigers pass-catchers with 73 receptions for 1,498 yards and 18 touchdowns as a sophomore.

Tigers protection Grant Delpit was once additionally the Jim Thorpe Award winner after registering 56 general tackles, two interceptions and 6 go breakups all over the common season.

Some questioned if Delpit was once probably the most deserving candidate from his personal staff, although.

Chase Younger took what was once arguably the perfect award to name when he was once the Chuck Bednarik Award recipient. The Ohio State defensive finish has been a fear all season, amassing 21 tackles for loss and 16.five sacks in 11 video games.

Had he no longer served a two-game suspension, Younger may have made a run at Elvis Dumervil’s single-season sack report (20 sacks).

In some of the night time’s tighter races, Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor beat out Oklahoma State’s Chuba Hubbard and Ohio State’s J.Okay. Dobbins for the Doak Walker Award. He is the primary back-to-back winner since Darren McFadden in 2006 and 2007. 

Taylor has run for 1,909 yards and 21 touchdowns this season, and he is already 6th all-time in speeding (6,080 yards). Had been he to go back for his senior 12 months, he may make it 3 in a row.

Some Cowboys enthusiasts may have idea Hubbard was once snubbed.

If that is his ultimate awards display, Taylor made positive to head out in taste.

Rodrigo Blankenship added to his already fantastic adventure at Georgia by means of successful the Lou Groza Award. The Bulldogs kicker completed the common season 25-of-31 on field-goal makes an attempt and earned touchbacks on 60 of his 79 kickoffs.

Whether or not you might be nearsighted or farsighted, Blankenship was once an inspiration.

Burrow, Younger, Justin Fields and Jalen Hurts have another forestall to make earlier than they rejoin their groups for bowl season. The quartet are headed to New York Town for Saturday’s Heisman presentation.

Assuming Burrow is the second one LSU participant to boost the Heisman, Fields and Younger or Hurts may have the final snigger within the Faculty Soccer Playoff.

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.