Eritrean Joseph Areruya has been named African bicycle owner of the 12 months, narrowly beating South African Daryl Impey into second.

The organisers of the trophy, Tropicale Amissa Bongo, introduced their last judgement of the award right now.

Areruya gained the Tropicale Amissa Bongo in January, earlier than successful the Tour de l’Espoir the next month.

Eritrean Joseph Areruya has been named African cyclist of the year

Eritrean Joseph Areruya (pictured) has been named African bicycle owner of the 12 months. Photograph: Provided

He then positioned first within the under-23 class on the African Continental Street Champs highway race and time-trial.

5-time Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault chaired the jury for the award and he felt that Areruya deserved the accolade.

“He has dominated all main occasions on the African continent earlier than transferring to skilled crew Delko-Marseille,” Hinault stated.

“He’s a robust and brave rider who can go additional and he impressed me towards the professionals over the past Tropicale.

Regardless of successful the Tour Down Underneath in January and having featured prominently on the WorldTour circuit for the remainder of the season, Impey nonetheless misplaced out on the award.

“The Trophy rewards the riders who’ve shined in African biking and never solely within the Tour or the opposite larger races on the earth.

“I’m certain in the future we are going to discover these younger African hopefuls aiming for the best victories,” he added.

Areruya turned the second rider, after SA’s Louis Meintjes, to win the award twice since its inception in 2012.

Closing rankings:

1. Joseph Areruya (Rwanda)
2. Daryl Impey (South Africa)
3. Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eritrea)
4. Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea)
5. Youcef Reguigui (Algeria)
6. Samuel Mugisha (Rwanda)
7. Azzedine Lagab (Algeria)
8. Salim Kipkemboi (Kenya)
9. Clint Hendricks (South Africa)
10. Isiaka Cisse (Ivory Coast)
11. Henok Mulubrahn (Eritrea)
12. Stefan de Bod (South Africa)
13. Mathias Sorgho (Burkina Faso)
14. Bonaventure Uwizeyimana (Rwanda)
15. Clovis Kamzong (Cameroon)

(perform(d, s, id) var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); = id; js.src = ‘https://join.fb.internet/en_GB/sdk.js#xfbml=1&appId=249643311490&model=v2.3’; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); (doc, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.