Chantal van den Broek-Blaak wins Tour of Flanders with solo assault | CyclingTips

Chantal van den Broek-Blaak wins Tour of Flanders with solo attack | CyclingTips

Boels Dolmans continued their successful methods with Chantal van den Broek-Blaak on the Ronde van Vlaanderen. Van den Broek-Blaak made her transfer after the Oude Kwaremont and earlier than the Paterberg, and was capable of trip alone to the end to take her first Ronde van Vlaanderen.

Because the chase group obtained farther away from the only chief the race for second appeared like it could be the perfect sprinter of the chase. Within the dash, Amy Pieters made it 1-2 for Boels Dolmans and Lotte Kopecky of Lotto Soudal sprinted to 3rd.

The way it occurred

It was an aggressive begin to the Ronde van Vlaanderen, with quite a lot of assaults from the beginning. 5 rides efficiently separated themselves from the peloton and had been capable of obtain over a three-minute hole with round 70 km to go. That hole got here down quickly because the peloton neared the essential climbs of the race, particularly the Kanarienberg and the cobbled Taaienberg with 39 km to go.

Inside the ultimate 35 km because the break of 5 began to get swept up two robust riders went off the entrance, Alena Amialiusik of Canyon//SRAM and Riejanne Markus of CCC-Liv, and had been capable of recover from 20 seconds virtually instantly. The 2 go as much as 41 seconds however Van der Breggen was decided to maintain them shut. On the Kruisberg with 26 km the hole evaporated as assaults began from the remaining peloton.

After the Kruisberg Annemiek van Vleuten noticed a chance to go, adopted by Anna van der Breggen, however when Van der Breggen refused to drag by Van Vleuten additionally sat up, so the 2 of them had been caught by the chase group in a short time.

Van Vleuten’s subsequent transfer got here on the Oude Kwaremont, with 16 km to go. The European champion was not capable of get area, and because the group approached the highest of the Oude Kwaremont Chantal van den Broek-Blaak attacked. The 2017 World Champion appeared very robust as she rode away from the chasing group, led by Van Vleuten.

Over the Paterberg, the ultimate climb of the day, Van den Broek-Blaak had a 13 second lead on the chase of heavy hitters together with Van Vleuten, Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo), Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope), Demi Vollering (Parkhotel Valkenberg), Grace Brown (Mitchelton Scott), and some extra Boels Dolmans riders.

With little or no cohesion within the chasing group the 2 Mitchelton Scott riders, Van Vleuten and Brown alternated attacking the remainder of the group. They attacked many occasions, none of them profitable, and with every assault the chase continued to crumble, permitting Van den Broek-Blaak to trip to victory.

After Van den Broek-Blaak had crossed the road the dash for second opened up, with Amy Pieters taking second in entrance of Belgian Nationwide Champion Lotte Kopecky.


1. Chantal van den Broek Blaak (Boels-Dolmans)
2. Amy Pieters (Boels-Dolmans)
3. Lotte Kopecky (Lotto-Soudal)
4. Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit-WNT)
5. Sarah Roy (Mitchelton-Scott)
6. Alena Amialusik (Canyon//SRAM)
7. Demi Vollering (Parkhotel Valkenberg)
8. Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo)
9. Lauren Stephens (Workforce Tibco SVB)
10. Marta Cavalli (Valcar – Journey & Service)

!perform (f, b, e, v, n, t, s)
if (f.fbq) return;
n = f.fbq = perform ()
n.callMethod ?
n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.model = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
(window, doc, ‘script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘212006399362301’);
fbq(‘observe’, ‘PageView’);

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.