Excursion de France veteran Francisco Mancebo Perez gained the 2019 LBC Ronda Pilipinas. Handout

MANILA, Philippines — Spaniard Francisco Mancebo Perez of Matrix Powertag Japan bested all comers — together with a couple of Filipino cyclists — to rule the 2019 LBC Ronda Pilipinas which ended on Tuesday in Pandan, Vintage.

Perez, 42, caught with Ronald Oranza of Army-Usual Insurance coverage and Dominic Perez of 7Eleven Cliqq-Air21, virtually all all over the 148.9-km Level 5, which began on the El Pueblo grounds in Roxas Town, and resulted in entrance of the Pandan Bay Institute.

The Spaniard completed 50th within the 5th and ultimate degree, 32 seconds off lap winner El Joshua Carino of Army.

Carino, the 2018 Le Excursion champion, bested reigning Excursion de Langkawi champion Artem Ovechkin and two-time Southeast Asian Video games gold medalist Mohd Harrif Saleh of Terengganu to assert his first degree win of this UCI-sanctioned race.

All 3 checked in with an identical instances of 3 hours, 24 mins and 37 seconds.

On the finish of this five-stage race that unfurled in Iloilo Town and threaded thru Guimaras and Roxas Town and completed in Vintage, Mancebo emerged victorious with an mixture time of 19:26:30 to assert his first name in a multi-stage race since topping the Excursion of Egypt 4 years in the past.

“I’m so glad it used to be over and we gained,” mentioned Mancebo. “The staff, now not simply myself, labored onerous to make this win occur, it used to be in reality teamwork.”

Mancebo wanted a dominant Level 1 win in Iloilo Town to construct a large lead that he then nursed intelligently all all over the race, keeping off his Filipino challengers in Oranza and Perez.

Oranza, final yr’s Ronda king who became 26 the day past, completed 2nd and the most efficient Filipino rider after he completed 3:20 in the back of Mancebo, whilst Perez wound up at 3rd, or simply 3 seconds in the back of the feisty Navyman.

“I’m ok with the highest Filipino rider award. It nonetheless seems like I’m the back-to-back champion of Ronda,” mentioned Oranza.

Army’s Jan Paul Morales (4:03 in the back of), the 2016 and 2017 Ronda titlist, ended up fourth, adopted by means of Matrix’s Sano Junya (4:21), Korail Korea’s Joo Daeyeong (4:26), 7Eleven’s Irish Valenzuela (4:48), Military-Bicycology’s Mark Julius Bordeos (4:48), 7Eleven’s Rustom Lim (4:56) and Army’s Rudy Roque (5:42).

Mancebo’s Matrix squad additionally emerged as total staff classification winner with a complete clocking of 58:31:36 forward of 7Eleven (00:12) and Army (0:56).

Army’s Junrey Navarra used to be total issues classification winner, 7Eleven’s George Oconer the total mountains classification and Opt for Gold’s Ismael Grospe rising the most efficient under-23 rider.

For extra sports activities protection, talk over with the ABS-CBN Sports activities website online.

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.