The Tommi Makinen-led Toyota Gazoo Racing challenge entered the 3rd yr of the marque’s go back to the Global Rally Championship in 2019 however proved to be the benchmark on this planet’s best rally collection within the arms of Estonian big name Tanak.

Tanak, who has gained the Rally Motive force of the Yr award this night, guided the Yaris to 6 wins from the 13 rallies run this season, beating Hyundai-backed Thierry Neuville to the championship with what used to be a spherical to spare sooner than Rally Australia’s cancellation.

Despite the fact that Tanak has departed the staff for 2020, Toyota stands in excellent stead to supply up a repeat of its ‘19 efficiency with six-time WRC champion Sebastien Ogier subsequent yr.

One-time WRC champion Ari Vatanen additionally introduced this award, handing it over to TGR’s technical director Tom Fowler.

Fowler stated: “The 2017-spec homologation automobiles are getting nearer and nearer, it is tricky to seek out those remaining tenths of a 2d and we had a large push this yr to ensure Ott is a champion,

“Giant because of Ott for demonstrating the auto’s power.”

Fowler joked he had spent “15 years” seeking to forestall Sebastiens (Loeb and Ogier) from profitable the WRC however is having a look ahead to operating with new signing Ogier in 2020.

The Yaris held off festival from Citroen’s C3 WRC, the Hyundai i20 WRC and Ford Fiesta WRC challengers to bag best honours in Rally Automotive of the Yr 2019.

The 2019 Autosport Awards will likely be broadcast on Sky Sports activities F1 at 9pm on Monday December 9.


Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.