Former India pacer Ajit Agarkar on Friday entered the race for the nationwide selector’s process and is a pacesetter for the chairman’s put up.

Agarkar showed to PTI that he has implemented for the nationwide selector’s place.

Agarkar, who’s a former chairman of Mumbai senior variety committee, is in competition for the chairman’s put up as the brand new charter does not have provisions for zonal machine.

With BCCI atmosphere January 24 because the closing date for sending packages, the 42-year-old Agarkar is indisputably probably the most high-profile title with 26 Assessments, 191 ODIs and three T20 Internationals, selecting 349 wickets throughout codecs.

Agarkar stays India’s 3rd perfect wicket-taker in ODIs (with 288 scalps) in the back of Anil Kumble (334 wickets) and Javagal Srinath (315 wickets). Some of the quickest bowlers throughout his time, Agarkar used to be fastest to 50 wickets, attaining the feat in handiest 23 video games.

“Ajit coming into the fray is an engaging construction. He’s any person who would have installed a large number of concept sooner than making use of. If somebody concept that Siva’s nomination as a boss of selectors is a given will now assume once more. It’s going to be each fascinating to look who all are short-listed,” a senior BCCI authentic informed PTI on stipulations of anonymity.

With West Zone’s Jatin Paranjpe nonetheless having a 12 months left, will BCCI accommodate two nationwide selectors from Mumbai in case Agarkar manages to provoke the but to be shaped Cricket Advisory Committee.

“The BCCI president Sourav Ganguly at the first day had spoken about transparency. If the intent is right kind and the guts is in proper position, why can we want to have zonal biases and observe the conference?” the authentic requested.

Excluding Agarkar and Sivaramakrishnan, the opposite distinguished names to have implemented come with Nayan Mongia, Chetan Sharma, Rajesh Chauhan.

Record of notable former cricketers who’ve implemented

Ajit Agarkar (Mumbai)

Chetan Sharma (Haryana)

Nayan Mongia (Baroda)

Laxman Sivaramakrishnan (Tamil Nadu)

Rajesh Chauhan (Madhya Pradesh)

Amey Khurasiya (Madhya Pradesh)

Gyanendra Pandey (UP, now not eligible as finished four years as JR selector)

Pritam Gandhe (Vidarbha, has already served time period as Jr Natl selector).

Get real-time indicators and all of the information in your telephone with the all-new India Lately app. Obtain from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

!serve as(f,b,e,v,n,t,s)
if(f.fbq)go back;n=f.fbq=serve as()n.callMethod?
fbq(‘init’, ‘605311446619075’);
fbq(‘monitor’, ‘PageView’);
fbq(‘monitor’, ‘ViewContent’);

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.